xTeams – Marketing

Behind every great vision there is a dedicated team that turns it into reality. As the market leader in wearable computing, Ubimax is of course no different. But who are the people behind the smart glasses and what tasks do they perform every day? We will answer these and more questions in our blog series xTeams.

First, Carly from the marketing team tells us about her daily work in Milwaukee, what you should bring to the team and will even reveal her hidden talent.
In 2018, Carly completed an internship at the Bremen office. She was then offered a full-time position as PR and Marketing Manager for the Americas. Since then, she has been working remotely from her home office in Milwaukee.

 

Name: Carly Kroll
Age: 29 years
With Ubimax since June 2018
Team: Marketing
Job title: PR and Marketing Manager Americas

This is how I get to work: I work remotely from my home in Milwaukee, WI. After getting up at 5 am, to my little puppy Lina licking me so that I can take her outside, my commute is down the hall to my office.

How is it working from home compared to Bremen and how do you communicate with your co-workers?

I miss my co-workers from Bremen, I loved the office there, and my bike ride to work. Working from home has its benefits, but I miss the social contact you get with being in the office. I tend to start my days early and that allows me more time to have Teams calls, chats and emails with my colleagues on a daily basis.

Why do you like working in this international start-up company at Ubimax?

It is a great way to meet people from around the world, traveling to trade-shows, and meeting my colleagues at different offices. I love the varied perspectives and different styles of handling projects. I feel that I learn a lot about different cultures through diverse mindsets and voices in the company.

 

  • What’s on my desk: Always a very full planner of checklists, sticky notes and lots of colourful markers. I also have different plants rotating to get sun on my desk.
  • I don’t drink coffee, but I love chai tea.
  • My favorite lunch is … anything my husband makes, he is a professional chef.
  • This is how I like to spend my evening: I like going to live music concerts of local bands and musicians.
  • This must never be missing from my fridge: Cheese!
  • My guilty pleasure is … early 2000’s pop diva music.
  • My hidden talent is … Drag performance. My drag name is Lee Vine.
  • Why I joined Ubimax: I joined Ubimax because I wanted to work in the field of AR, get hands-on experience with hardware and software, and get to write about it!

Strategy, Content, Snacks, and Good Ideas – The Marketing Team

Please tell us a little more about your team.

The marketing team works to promote Ubimax as the go to solution for industry. We strive to position the company as thought leader in the AR enterprise space. I am responsible for editing English content, marketing to US leads, planning US and Mexico events and a variety of other marketing tasks. I wear many hats as the remote worker across the ocean, but my favorite is getting to write a blog article or white paper occasionally.

What should a member bring to the marketing team?

What you should bring as a part of my team, is snacks and good ideas.

Is there anything else you would like to tell the world?

That internal communication is vital for the success of anything, relationships, companies, family. We need to work on having streamlined internal communication between departments and within departments.

Thank you very much Carly for the interview and the fun answers and exciting insights you gave.

 

Did the interview catch your attention? Then wait no longer! Take a look at our job vacancies to join our Ubimax team! We are looking forward to hearing from you!

 

(The interview was conducted by Wiebke Beck)

xTeams – Marketing

Hinter jeder großen Vision steht ein engagiertes Team, das sie in die Realität umsetzt. Als Marktführer für Wearable-Computing-Lösungen ist das bei Ubimax natürlich nicht anders. Doch wer sind eigentlich die Menschen hinter den Datenbrillen und welche Aufgaben bewältigen sie jeden Tag? Diese und weitere Fragen beantworten wir in unserer neuen Blogserie xTeams.

Als erstes erzählt Carly aus dem Marketing-Team von ihrem Arbeitsalltag in Milwaukee, davon, was man als Teil ihres Teams mitbringen sollte und von ihrem verborgenen Talent.
Im Jahr 2018 absolvierte Carly ein Praktikum im Bremer Büro. Danach wurde ihr eine Vollzeitstelle als PR- und Marketingmanagerin für den amerikanischen Kontinent angeboten. Seitdem arbeitet sie aus dem Home Office in Milwaukee. 

 

Name: Carly Kroll
Alter: 29 Jahre
Bei Ubimax seit: Juni 2018
Abteilung: Marketing
Berufsbezeichnung: PR & Marketingmanagerin

So komme ich zur Arbeit: Ich arbeite von zu Hause aus in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Mein Arbeitsweg ist also den Flur runter in mein Büro. Ich stehe um 5:00 Uhr auf, wenn mein kleiner Welpe Lina mein Gesicht ableckt, damit ich mit ihr raus gehe.

Wie ist es für dich, von zu Hause aus und nicht mehr im Bremer Büro zu arbeiten? Und wie kommunizierst du mit deinen Kolleg*innen? 

Ich vermisse meine Kolleg*innen aus Bremen, ich mochte das Büro und meine Fahrradfahrt zur Arbeit wirklich sehrVon zu Hause aus zu arbeiten hat seine Vorteile, aber ich vermisse die sozialen Kontakte, die man im Büro hat. Ich starte meistens früh in meinen Arbeitstag, sodass ich mehr Zeit für TeamsAnrufe, Chats und E-Mails mit meinen Kolleg*innen habe. 

Warum arbeitest du gerne bei Ubimax? 

Es bietet eine großartige Möglichkeit, Menschen aus aller Welt kennenzulernen, zu Messen zu reisen und Kolleg*innen in verschiedenen Büros zu treffen. Ich liebe die vielfältigen Perspektiven und verschiedenen Arten, Projekte anzugehen. Ich habe das Gefühl, dass ich durch die vielfältigen Denkweisen und Stimmen im Unternehmen viel über verschiedene Kulturen lerne.

 

  • Das habe ich auf dem Schreibtisch: Einen Planer voller Checklisten, Notizzettel und mit vielen farbenfrohen Markierungen. Außerdem habe ich verschiedene Pflanzen, die auf meinem Schreibtisch rotieren, um Sonne abzubekommen. 
  • Ich trinke keinen Kaffee, aber ich liebe Chai Tee. 
  • Zum Mittag esse ich am liebsten… alles, was mein Ehemann auftischt, er ist professioneller Koch. 
  • Feierabend-ProgrammIch gehe gerne zu Live-Konzerten lokaler Bands und Musiker*innen. 
  • Das darf in meinem Kühlschrank nie fehlen: Käse! 
  • Mein Guilty Pleasure ist… Pop Diva Musik aus den frühen 2000ern.  
  • Mein verborgenes Talent ist… Drag Performance. Mein Drag-Name ist Lee Vine. 
  • Darum bin ich zu Ubimax gekommenIch wollte im AR-Bereich arbeitenpraktische Erfahrungen mit Hardware und Software sammeln und darüber schreiben! 

Strategie, Inhalte, Snacks und gute Ideen – Das Marketing-Team 

Bitte erzähle etwas mehr über dein Team. 

Das Marketing-Team arbeitet daran, Ubimax als Go-To-Lösung für die Industrie zu etablieren. Wir streben danach, das Unternehmen als führenden Anbieter im Bereich AR zu positionieren. Ich bin verantwortlich für die Redaktion englischer Inhalte, das Marketing für die USamerikanischen Leads, die Planung von Events in den USA und Mexiko sowie eine Vielzahl anderer Marketing-Aufgaben. Als Remote-Mitarbeiterin auf der anderen Seite des Ozeans trage ich viele Hüte, aber am meisten Spaß macht es mir, ab und an einen Blogartikel oder ein Whitepaper zu schreiben.

Was sollte man als Mitglied des Marketing-Teams mitbringen? 

Was man als Teil meines Teams mitbringen sollte, sind Snacks und gute Ideen! 

Gibt es etwas, was du der Welt noch mitteilen möchtest?

Dass interne Kommunikation essenziell für den Erfolg von allem ist, Beziehungen, Unternehmen, Familie. Wir müssen daran arbeiten, interne Kommunikation zwischen und innerhalb von Abteilungen zu optimieren.

Hat das Interview Ihre Aufmerksamkeit geweckt? Dann warten Sie nicht mehr länger! Werfen Sie einen Blick auf unsere Stellenangebote, um Teil eines der Teams bei Ubimax in Deutschland, den USA oder Mexiko zu werden, oder informieren Sie sich erst in unserem Blog über die Teams. Wir freuen uns darauf, von Ihnen zu hören! 

 

(Das Interview führte Wiebke Beck)